Posted by: Kristin | February 10, 2010

making Bob Barker proud

I made an appointment to have Kona spayed. And I’m not feeling great about the whole deal. Of course, I know it’s the right thing to do. Plus, we signed an agreement with the breeder saying we would do so. However, I’m struggling with the thought of Kona being scared, stressed or in pain during the process.

We’ve never left her anywhere overnight. And when she was left waiting for us in a cage after being groomed once at Petco, she cried. She was frantic when we came to pick her up and she saw us through the glass. I’m just hoping she’ll be loopy enough from the drugs post-surgery that she won’t realize we’re nowhere to be found.

Everyone tells me that I have nothing to worry about. But I can’t help it. It’s going to be weird not having her around the house for the first time. I’ve read that I’ll need to make a quick getaway when I drop her off, as I shouldn’t make a big, emotional production of leaving (which would only be more stressful for her). I’ll do my best.

She has no idea what's coming.

Responses

  1. I know it’s hard, but she needs you to be a strong Mom. It IS the right thing to do for all of you. That photo is fantastic! What a pretty girl!


Leave a Reply

Categories

