Posted by: Kristin | March 11, 2010

happiness is a front-clip harness

I took Kona for her first walk with a front-clip harness tonight and it was AWESOME!

I’ve read that this type of harnesses is preferred over the traditional style because it decreases a dog’s natural response to pull. I asked our obedience class trainer, too, and she said typical harnesses actually encourage dogs to pull using their opposition reflex. One article I read used this example: “That is why a variation of these types of traditional harnesses is used with sled dogs, to make it easier for and to encourage them to pull.” Makes sense to me.

I was convinced. Even so, I was pleasantly surprised that I only had to stop our long walk a few times tonight because of Kona pulling. This is an incredible improvement over the norm, which usually involves her pulling quite a bit at the beginning of a walk because she’s so excited. Though she was slightly annoyed at the placement of the clip and tried to bite it a few times.

But, overall, the new harness was a success! It even encouraged her to walk more to my side rather than straight out in front of me. It was a great way to start the evening. … Now please excuse me while I chase Kona off the couch. [Sigh.]

Responses

  1. Neat – I haven’t seen that one before. Granted, I don’t have a dog (yet), but the Illusion collar looks like a great idea too. Here’s the video on this Cesar Millan collar – it’s yet another technique.
    http://www.cesarsway.com/shop/Illusion-Dog-Collar-Leash-System


Leave a Reply

Categories

